She Was Mounted

by Colleen Rochette

Roots gone wild. What a liberating concept. I always wonder, “Why is that orchid partying so hard?” From my personal experience, I have found that an orchid’s roots evade their vessels for a few reasons.

A. The orchid is indeed having a wild party. She wants her roots to be loud and free. She is comfortable and loves embracing her au naturel side. Get me outta this pot! I wanna let some of this love hang loose.

B. There is no room left for my big juicy roots! Upgrade me, please!

C. This medium is terrible, my other roots are rotting, it is foul in here and I want to cry.

So, here is my lovely Dendrobium lindleyi. I dreamt of coaxing this buxom girl to take a liking to flat plateaus, which she will, but she also had an apparently bad case of ‘option C.’

IMG_5208As you can see, a wild root party is definitely taking place. This fleshy display evoked dreams about taming lovely roots to wrap around craggy surfaces. Wow, cork bark happens to have craggy surfaces. What a coincidence.

IMG_5198This beautiful piece of Mediterranean cork is approximately 8″ x 8″ and is available at Repotme.com with a reasonable price tag. The process of harvesting cork is also pretty intriguing. Who knew there was such a thing as the Cork Institute of America?

IMG_5196
IMG_5217My very heavily trimmed, but happy, Dendrobium is officially hanging around. The slight convex curve of this chunk of cork bark is very curious. This curve will definitely accentuate the dazzling streams of yellow, honey-scented blossoms that will tumble down from her squat pseudobulbs. In the meantime, I have also tucked a little sphagnum under the fishing line to help her roots maintain additional moisture.

